BRINGING AMAZING WINE FROM HEROIC, SUSTAINABLE SMALL GROWERS FROM AROUND THE WINE WORLD, £5.95 SHIPPING UK WIDE ON WINES
Wine is one of life’s greatest pleasures – so why should vegetarians and vegans miss out? You may be surprised to learn that despite wine’s plant-based nature, some are not suitable for vegetarian and vegan consumption. However, you’re not alone in your confusion – we frequently get asked whether wine is vegetarian. Whilst almost no wine contains any animal-based products, many are ‘fined’ with animal ingredients when they are being produced. This means many vegetarians and vegans choose to forgo these wines and instead choose vegetarian-friendly bottles that use different ingredients during their creation.
Fining agents vary from isinglass and gelatine to casein and egg albumen. Any wine fined using casein (derived from milk) or egg albumen are therefore suitable for vegetarians – but not for vegans. Isinglass is made from fish, so wine using this ingredient would be suitable for pescatarians. There are alternative fining agents that can be used such as charcoal or clay-derived bentonite. These are safe for vegetarians and vegans but are less common than animal-derived ingredients.
SELECTED FILTERS – CLICK SAVE AFTER CLICKING TERM/S TO FILTER
Please note - all wine/sparkling wine is sold in cases of 6 bottles, unless otherwise stated. Please see product details page for clarification if you are unsure.